September 16, 2011

  • Bits & Pieces

    So, there is just really too much to catch up so it’s back to bullets!

    - My parents’ visit was good!  It was definitely trying at times, but as I age (and they age) I am increasingly glad when we get to spend good time together.

    - We went on a Tracy Arm Fjord Tour.  The same company where that YouTube video shows a HUGE calving lead to pieces of glacier FLYING at the people on the boat super fast.  That did NOT happen for us.

    - Coupon has been in Fairbanks since Friday on his moose hunt.  He’s not checked in with me at all, but thankfully I’ve been able to check in with his brother’s girlfriend.  She doesn’t know MUCH more than me, but she was able to tell me they’ve been home once and dropped off a severed moose head.  They wouldn’t bring back a head of a cow, so that means they got bull and still have their two cow permits to use.  But, they’re STILL out, which means they’re having a hard time spotting/killing a moose!

    - While he’s been gone I’ve been pretty productive!  I’ve been hitting the gym or some sort of exercise each night this week and finding time to read while I’m at it.  I finished one book and started another last night.

    - Work has been pretty nuts.  We’ve had people get fired, pushed out, or choosing to leave in the last month and a half or so.  It’s so frustrating because we’re still down a lot of people and yet work goes on as usual.  I still am doing just as many intakes as before and I have HALF the number of usual clinicians to assign clients too.  It makes the clinicians we do have way overfull and that’s just not good therapy.  However, I still love my job and I still think it is a good place to work.  I have no plans on leaving!

    - The newest gal at work feels the same and we have really connected on a few levels.  We have had some similar Alaskan work experiences and she’s just a rad lady.  It’s always nice to have a new friend in town.

    - We have been absolutely LUCKY to have like 3-4 SUNNY days in the last week.  Coupon left on Friday and Saturday and Sunday were both gorgeous.  Today was sunny, but not as warm as last weekend.  When you live here, you never know how many more days like that you’ll get so you relish them!  Oh, and by warm, I mean about 60F. ;)   Puts that in perspective huh?  I love living here because 65F is about as hot as I need to be.

    - It sounds like we’ve got a buyer for the condo which is nice.  It’ll be great to not have to worry about that.  Tomorrow or Satruday I’m going to get over there and pick up some of the books and kitchen items I left here.  We rented it furnished and the buyer wants to rent it out as well, so we negotiated to sell the furniture with the place, but of course, my personal books do not count! :D

    - That also means our renters will be leaving soon.  Well, at least one will.  The other (the one we like more anyway!)

    - I’m getting really excited about our trips in October.  We’re going to the SF Bay area for one weekend and then the next weekend we leave for Mexico and will be to the following weekend.  I’m unfortunately not nearly as toned as I’d like to be for my swimsuit-wearing, but I’m just excited to go and get away!

    - I have a Heartsy addiction that I really need to reign in.  *Sigh*  You should have this addiction too!  It would make me feel better about myself and if you were to say I referred you I’d get MOOLAH!  (Heartsy, btw, is like Groupon or LivingSocial or Eversave, but ONLY for Etsy shops!!!!!!!)

Comments (2)

  • It’s gotten nice and cool here, in the 60s and 70s and I am looooving it.
    But at a wedding reception last weekend I totally jacked up my knee so I haven’t been able to go out and enjoy it.

    Your trips sound exciting!

  • @sexyewok7 - Yeah I saw that on Facebook, that sounds like a SUPER bummer!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *