February 29, 2012

  • A decision to reframe things

    Frequently when I have something to do after work, something that might detract from our typical schedule I’ll tell Coupon the night before.  “Ok, tomorrow after work I’m doing this and this and that, so I won’t be home and you’re on your own for dinner . . .”  etc.

    What inevitably happens is that Coupon wasn’t listening.  He’ll call me the next day and say the usual “So what’s the plan for tonight?”

    My first response was to sigh and say to myself “I seriously just told him the plan last night!”  And then I decided that was negative thinking that wasn’t productive.  I decided instead that I could reframe it as, he likes to talk to me most days.  He likes to call me and hear my voice.

    It carries me through — at least until next time.

Comments (4)

  • OMG, we got through this on a weekly basis! I thought reminding him AND putting it on the calendar would help. I don’t think he has ever looked at the calendar hanging in plain sight on the fridge….haha. Silly boys. I love this reframing idea

  • @ShamrockLover -  Seriously, boys like can’t read or listen sometimes! Coupon will also apparently get confused by things like “tomorrow” or “tonight” in emails. Well, you’ll know if it is TODAY or TOMORROW based on the DATE of the email ding dong!! Lol. “Oh, I thought you said that was tomorrow.”

  • What i find hilarious is that Ryan will always want me to send him a reminder text like i’m his mom or secretary!! Then if i forget, it’s my fault. OY! At least with the text reminders, it’s for non-important stuff like picking up diapers for diaper club

  • @ShamrockLover -  Niiiiice. Granted I forgot the plan today, and his usually daily phone call probably would have helped me remember! Oops!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *