February 27, 2012

  • Holy Weekend!

    Wow, I’ve been meaning to post, but honestly I didn’t have anything worth posting about until this weekend.

    First, a heartbreak of a kind.  My Little Sister, is 12.  She lives with her dad who single parents.  I think he’s sort of hands-off, but not intentionally – more of a “I’m not quite sure what I’m doing” kind of way.  Anyway, she and I make plans to get together yesterday just yesterday.  Then her dad calls. 

    Her dad tells me that she got caught stealing this past week at the local Wal-Mart.  She was with a friend who’s gotten caught before and he thinks she probably gave into peer pressure.  She’s also failing math and though she’s still doing ok in other classes not as good as she used to.

    My heart fell a bit.  I am honored, though, that her dad wanted me to know.  He wanted me to be aware, not to discipline her, not to chide her, but to know in case if came up and so I could get her to talk to me or whatever.  When we got together for a walk on the trail that goes around the airport I tried to hint at things, but she either didn’t take the bait or was trying to not tell me. 

    I asked how parent-teacher conferences had gone and she told me she didn’t know that her dad had gone.  “Well, did he tell you how your teachers said you were doing?”  “Nope!”  Hmmmmm, it feels fishy and I don’t like that.  I wish she felt she could be honest with me.

    Then, I asked how other things were and she said “fine” a few times.  *Sigh*  I know that just because I’m her Little Sister doesn’t mean she won’t do anything bad ever.  And I know that I am not in her life to discipline here.  I want to keep our relationship fresh and current so she hopefully feels like she can talk to me.  That’s all I can really ask for.
    —-
    That being said . . . I’ve signed up as Team Captain for a Bowl for Kids’ Sake team.  Our team name is The Freudian Slips and if you’d like to donate (anything works!) let me know via private message and I’ll send you the link to our page!  And thanks to @ShamrockLover who has already donated! 
    —-
    And then there was today.  Holy weirdness.  I saw my ex, the felon from the previous city I lived in.  Last I heard from him he was in Minnesota reportedly finishing up his Bachelor’s Degree. 

    Today I’m in the grocery store self-check-out lane and it’s the kind where there are two on each side with a wide “aisle” between them.  So, I’m waiting for one of the four slots to open up and there is a guy who looks an awful lot like my ex.  I watch his mannerisms and he acts like him too.  His hair looks like him, his feel and shoes look like him.  Finally a slot opens up and he’s STILL checking out by the time I’m done, so I get a few more good looks in and decide it’s him.  I said his name and he turned around and he’s the same weird guy he was then.

    Apparently he got a job with the state.  Now, we’re the capital, but there are certainly state jobs elsewhere, so I thought maybe he was travelling for work.  Nope, he lives here now.  He stays he works for the Department of Labor in data processing after he got his BA degree.  Well, good for him.  Though my heart was racing a good while after and I just really couldn’t believe it.

    The ONLY and I mean, ONLY thing better about this ex than my current boyfriend was he was more giving with affection and he got me off better.  Now, he had TONS of cons.  He was convicted of a felony at 18, had at least two legal issues going on in the 6 months we dated, and was just not . . . super honest about everything I don’t think.  He’s nice enough, but had weird syntax in his speech and weird mannerisms.  He’s just strange.  I don’t miss him at all, but because I have a hard time letting totally go of people I’ve dated I’ve always been curious about how he’s doing.  Has he cleaned his life up or gotten into more trouble.  He was my “bad boy” and I didn’t knowingly date a bad boy.  He was the most drama-filled guy I’d ever dated.  It’s weird to think he lives here now and I could potentially run into him again.  I sort of WANT to run into him with Coupon on my arm.  Is that snarky of me?
    —-
    Oh, and I finally got some Girl Scout cookies today.  No one asked me to order any.  Sad!
    —-
    Oh, and @PennyLumpkins, you’ll like this!  I finished Freakonomics at the gym today and started my next book More Letters from Penthouse (yes, the magazine).  It’s basically people’s letters of their sexual exploits they wrote to the magazine.  It ends up reading like erotic and got me so hot I had to come home and get myself off.  Hadn’t done THAT in awhile!

Comments (8)

  • That’s rough about your little sister. Hopefully as time goes on, she will trust you more and confide in you. She probably jus has her walls up.

    That’s crazy about seeing your ex. I saw one of mine not too long ago and it freaked me out hardcore.

    I might have to look into that book, I love erotica!!

  • @PennyLumpkins -  Yeah, and I think she hasn’t had a lot of good female role models and I can see how she might have barriers up. Her dad boxes too, so he’s a “tough guy” who probably doesn’t emphasize feelings and little details.

    Yeah, I mean, never thought I’d see this guy again (and of all my exes he’s the one I’d LEAST want to see)!

    I’ll send you the book when I’m done with it if you want – just message me your address on Facebook or Xanga. :) I like to pass books on!

  • He had “weird syntax.” That was really funny to me for some reason My heart started racing as i was reading about your ex, so i can just imagine how that must have felt. I can’t believe he’s in Alaska….what a small world. It’s not snarky at all of you to want to have Coupon with you. Speaking of Coupon, you need to teach him a few more things about getting you off!!

  • @ShamrockLover - Well this is the ex I dated in Anchorage, so it’s not weird he’s in AK necessarily . . . but in my town, YES!

    Oh I know weird syntax is weird itself, but that’s just really the best way to say what he talked like! I wish I had a recording of him speaking weird like that.

    I do need to teach Coupon a few things — however, I’m not sure what to teach him. I’m not sure what it is exactly. We’ve tried the same things, but sizes/angles, something is just different! I do think we should invest in a Liberator or something. :) And I told him about how I got all worked up by the book and came home and worked some magic and said “well thanks for calling me,” lol, so I told him he was busy studying and there’d be more time for reading the book. Usually I read at the gym when we’re together after work, so it wouldn’t be out of the question to come home and get busy. ;)

  • @kohawkrachel -  Gotcha! For some reason i just assumed it was a different state that you dated him. Is the Liberator the one my sister posted about?

  • @ShamrockLover - the Liberator is a wedge. I think angling is a big deal for us (maybe just me) and that’d probably help!

  • Oh whoops!! I was thinking it was a vibrator…HAHA.

  • @ShamrockLover - Well there’s no reason we couldn’t use another one of those . . . ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *