Month: January 2012

  • I suck at this blogging thing . . .

    I never feel like I have any time to write, and then when I sit down, I feel like I have nothing valuable to contribute.

    But then I realize you all have no clue what my days are like unless I tell you.  So here’s what I’ll tell you:

    - Coupon and I are working out 6-7 days a week.  There’s a Biggest Loser competition I’m participating in and the winner will take everyone’s $50 . . . for a total of $1650.  It would be awesome to win!

    - Volleyball starts up in less than a month and I’m soooo excited.  We have a few people from last year returning, but most of our team will be people who didn’t play last year or are totally new to my agency. 

    - That brings me to another thing — work is going pretty well.  We had a tree-day training last week and that was obnoxious, but not too shabby.  Though it means other work had to be put off it is always nice to have time out of the office.  I get another day out of the office this week.  We have a new guy starting tomorrow and another guy starting before the month is up.  Then we’ll be fully staffed.  First time in a LONG TIME!  The nature of our work has a lot of turnover, but we had some unexpected glitches in the last year that had people leaving us before we (or they) expected.  *Sigh*  The good thing is our new people seem to have really good experience, a good interest in staying here, and some even have experience living in AK before, so they’re not afraid of a little wind and rain!

    - I’m being good about reading too and am reading on the recumbent bike (and sometimes treadmill).  It makes it slightly less boring for me and keeps me up on my reading.  I don’t always get to read though — when Coupon makes me to intervals there isn’t much time for reading . . .

    - I’m not seeing a change in the scale yet, but I am in some clothing fitting . . . it’s a good sign and I hope I see more of it soon.

    - My Little Sister and I have been baking, saw the new Alvin & the Chipmunks movie and this Friday saw Lunafest.  Great films again this year.  If Lunafest is in your area I urge you to check it out.  So empowering to see great films that were made for, by and about women.  Some were a bit mature, but she’s a pretty mature gal, so at intermission I picked her brain about the obstetric fistula one and the transgendered kid one.  At the end we talked again about if there were things she had questions about and the bad words some used.  She’s so smart.  She told me that she liked all the movies because they taught her about other people’s lives and “human nature.”  I was awfully proud of her global 12-year-old view.  It was also a great way to give her permission to talk to me about girl stuff.  She lives with her father only and hasn’t seen her mom in quite awhile.  She has a grandmother in town, but I’m not sure how much they chat about girl stuff.  At any rate, I want her to make sure she has someone to talk to when she needs to about anything and everything.  Oh, I even won a door prize!  It was a print of a water color with lots of purples and swans (not my style) and done by an Alaskan artist, so I gave it to my LS and she was thrilled!

    - We’re still hoping to get LASIK or ICL.  We’ve gotten a few quotes and ICL is about double the cost of LASIK, so of course that’s what they push.  Maybe that’s the route we should go.  It is reversible and I can understand why they would say we’re not great candidates for LASIK, but at the same time, it’s just a LOT of money to fork out for your eyes.  We’ll see.  We’re hoping to use our free Alaska Airlines flights for that.

    That’s about all I think of for now . . . really trying to do better!